McKeever on New Warriors – not what you think

Writer Sean McKeever, who is currently rumored to be the writer of the new New Warriors series by Rich Johnston’s Lying in the Gutters column, interacted with fans on the Jinxworld Forums. While he initially would not address the rumor, he did give his opinion of the original New Warriors series.

I never really read much of New Warriors, so I guess I’d have to say no [on being a fan]. I’ve always really liked Firestar, Namorita and Nova, and I sold the series at my shop starting with #1, so I’m not sure why I never gave it a try. Probably because there were so many comics coming out at the time.

I’m a fan of the concept, as one might expect. Not so big a fan of the name.

And a bit later, after a poster recommended New Warriors #7-9 of the original series:

I have since read a bunch of issues–including those you mention–but I found it didn’t age well, to be honest. I can guarantee you I would have been the biggest fan if I’d read them when they originally came out, for what it’s worth.

(EDIT: I so guess my “never really read much” comment was misleading. I meant back in the day.)

And finally, after further discussion of the rumor, McKeever reveals he is not writing the new series:

ook…this really goes against my principles regarding rumor columns, but I’m starting to feel a bit bad about this. I am NOT writing New Warriors. Never was, never approached, etc.

The reason I’ve been so coy is to teach everyone a lesson about putting so much stock in these rumor columns. Seriously, people really need to stop and consider that, while they’re sometimes right or sometimes contain actual news, ATR and LITG are not news columns, as Rich Johnston himself will tell you.

Anyway, I pitched New Warriors two years ago but there was no interest. They wanted a high concept pitch with them as the equivalent of “child actors all grown up,” and I wanted a serious ensemble drama that happened to also be an action-heavy superhero comic. At the outset, the team was broken up, and so were Justice and Firestar. Justice gets the team back together as an excuse to be close to Firestar again. I believe my roster was Justice, Firestar, Speedball, Nova and a new Marvel Girl, whose powers and partial background I later turned into Gravity. After the first arc I was going to bring in Thor Girl and/or Namorita.

I’ve since lost my pitch in a hard drive crash, otherwise I would consider sharing it with you all.

Sean McKeever’s post

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • PaxHouse  On December 8, 2006 at 1:26 pm

    Sorry to hear about this……but at least we now know that there’s one less Writer to added on the NEW New Warriors Series’ list…..

    PaxHouse.

Leave a Reply

