OT: Me, recently

You may have noticed the site has slowed down in the updates department. I also haven’t been posting when I add new issues to chronology pages or character pages, which I kind of feel like I should but no one seems to have noticed so maybe it’s not such a big deal. Anyway, as some of you may know, I live a rather busy life outside of this website. Pardon the self-indulgence, but there’s three things that I’m pretty excited about that I’d like to share. And if it gives you something to read and watch instead of noticing the site is about 3 weeks behind and missing a review, then all the better. I don’t want to push down the recently posted news too far, so I hope you’ll click through if you’re curious about THE SECRET LIFE OF A BLOGGER. See you on the other side?

Oh good! You clicked through! Thanks, you’re awesome!

The first thing I want to mention is that on April 6th, I’ll be participating in the MS Walk here in Los Angeles (well, Pasadena technically). I would be immensely appreciative if you could find it in your heart to sponsor me, sign up to walk yourself, and/or pass on this plea to others to help raise awareness and maybe even money to find a cure for multiple sclerosis. So, here’s the pitch:

My wife was diagnosed with MS in 2002, and since then she and I have become more aware than either of us would ever want about this disease. On Sunday, April 6, we’re going to participate in the Greater Los Angeles MS Walk in Pasadena. Can you make a tax-deductible donation? If you can pledge to donate any amount, you’ll help make each step of our 5K (~3.2 miles) walk build to something better for the hundreds of thousands that struggle with MS.

Click here to visit my personal page.

Click here to view the team page for teamMS – GLA.

Your donation goes to the National Multiple Sclerosis Society, which is dedicated to creating a world free of MS, and they need our help. It’s faster and easier than ever to Join the Movement! Simply click on the link at the bottom of this message. Or, if you prefer, send your contribution to the National MS Society, Walk MS: 2440 S. Sepulveda Blvd., Ste. 115, Los Angeles, CA 90064. If sending a check, please make the check out to the National MS Society and be sure to put my name on the Memo line.

Your contribution will allow the Society to fund research, help people with MS lead powerful lives, and advocate for change. I appreciate your support. Please don’t hesitate to post comments or email me with any questions.

For more information about the National Multiple Sclerosis Society, how proceeds from Walk MS: Greater L.A. are used, or the other ways you can do something about MS now, please visit nationalMSsociety.org.

Thank you for Joining the Movement!

-Corey Blake

Click here to visit my personal page.

Click here to view the team page for teamMS – GLA.

Okay, so that was item 1. Next item:

Typically I’m an actor. But technically I went to school for behind-the-camera stuff. Recently, I was fortunate enough to re-use that old muscle and I am extremely proud of the results. Here’s the blurb:

Voices From Chornobyl is a dramatization of the words spoken by the people and workers who lived to talk about the nuclear power plant disaster of April 26, 1986.

Voices From Chornobyl, directed and adapted by Cindy Marie Jenkins, is a stage production based on a book by Svetlana Aleksievich. A demo video has been produced by Nahleen Blake and associate produced by Corey Blake. The video debuted at the Remember Chernobyl Conference in the UK on March 8th.

To watch the the 10-minute demo video in its entirety, please visit the Voices From Chornobyl official site or click here.

And finally the third item. Currently I am in rehearsal for a show that will only have two performances. So if you’re going to be in the Los Angeles area at the end of March/beginning of April, I would be honored if you stopped by to check this out. Here are the details:

needtheater presents
the Workshop of
Ten
by Cindy Marie Jenkins

Set in the near-future, Ten revisits Ancient Greek mythology…

A ruler’s daughter is killed on her wedding night…

A brother escapes brutality in the war his sister fights…

A dramatic exploration of the individual’s role in the destiny of a nation…

Come see the newest and most ambitious work by the internationally recognized writer of Voices from Chernobyl…

March 30th and April 6th–
Two Performances Only

Written by Cindy Marie Jenkins Directed by Ms. Jenkins and Jennifer Kenyon
Produced by Matt B. Wells Stage Managed by Adele Dodds
Original Music Written and Performed by Stephen GC

Featuring:
COREY BLAKE * ADAM BURCH * LISA CASSANDRA * DOUGLAS DICKERMAN *
ENCI * MICHELLE GIACOPUZZI * WILLOW HALE * CONOR LANE *
WILLIAM KNIGHT * BARBARA PASSOLT * RENIE RIVAS * PATRICK SEITZ *
KATIE SWEENEY * MAX THAYER * TONY WILLIAMS * KAPPA VICTORIA WOOD

When & Where
MARCH 30th- 7 PM
@ the FAKE Gallery
4319 Melrose Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90029
Tickets- $10
CLICK HERE TO BUY TICKETS
Or call 323-654-6698
FOR COMPLETE INFO, VISIT WWW.NEEDTHEATER.ORG

APRIL 6TH- 2 PM
Excerpts to be performed
@ the Arlington West Memorial
on Santa Monica Beach,
just north of the Pier
This show is FREE.

So that’s me recently. And believe it or not, there’s about 2-3 other things in the works that aren’t ready to be announced yet. And if you made it this far down to find out that last bit, I thank you very much for being that interested and/or that bored. If you’d like to find out more about me, I actually have a message board believe it or not. There you’ll find links to my official site, my Facebook and MySpace pages, and news about other things I’ve been doing. Probably more interesting to you, there’s a small but growing group of comic fans and friends building at the message board, so if you’d like to stop and chat about anything at all, please feel free.

Well, I think that’s enough of all that. I thank you very much for allowing me this little aside. Hopefully my schedule will let up soon and I’ll be able to update the site soon. Thank you for hanging in there.

-Corey

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

Leave a Reply

